Guru Ghasidas University

Tagged with:
Posted on Saturday, February 7, 2009

Guru  Ghasidas  University  (GGU), established by an Act of the State Legislative Assembly, was formally inaugurated on June 16, 1983. GGU is an active member of the Association of Indian Universities and Association of Commonwealth Universities. The National Assessment & Accreditation Council (NAAC) has accredited the University as B+ . Situated in a socially and economically challenged area, the university is appropriately named to honor the great Satnami Saint Guru Ghasidas (born in 17th century), who championed the cause of the downtrodden and waged a relentless struggle against all forms of social evils and injustice prevailing in the society.

The University is a residential cum affiliating institution, having its jurisdiction spread over Bilaspur Revenue Division of the state of Chhattisgarh.

The Campus:
GG University has two Campuses, Main Campus at Bilaspur and recently inaugurated Campus at Surguja (Ambikapur). The lush green sprawling main campus of the University spread over an area of 875 acres is located five kilometers away from the main Bilaspur town. River Arpa, the lifeline of Bilaspur, runs parallel to the University campus. Bilaspur is a fast Industrializing city, already having a large number of industrial units coming up in the region.

Affiliated Courses:

  • Cmd College Bilasopur
  • Koushlendra Rao Law College Bilaspur
  • Govt. Science College Bilaspur
  • Govt. Education College Bilaspur
  • Dls College Bilaspur
  • D P Vipra Law Colleges Bilaspur
  • Pns College Bilaspur
  • D P Vipra Education Colleges, Bilaspur
  • Chouksey Eng. College
  • College Of Information Technology And Appl. Social Science Bilaspur
  • Govt. College Sepat Bilaspur
  • Sng College Mungeli
  • D P Vipra College Bilaspur
  • Govt. Girls Pg College Bilaspur
  • Govt. Eng. College Bsp.
  • Govt. Art & Commerce Bsp.
  • Govt. Naveen Girls College Seepat Bsp.
  • Mahamaya Excelency College Bsp.
  • Shantiniketen College Bsp.
  • Vidhya Vihar College Bsp.
  • Chouskey Homeopathy College Medical Bsp.
  • Dr. Bhuvan Singh Porte Govt. College Bsp.
  • Govt. College Kota Bsp.
  • Govt. Jmp College Takhatpur Bsp.
  • Govt. Science College Mungeli Bsp
  • Govt. Girls College Pendra Road Bsp
  • Rajeev Gandhi Govt College Lormi Bsp
  • Govt. College Ratanpur Bsp
  • Govt. College Kosamdih Road Masturi Bsp
  • Saint Guru Ghasidas Arts College Pachpedih Bsp

The university is structured into the following academic divisions:

  • Faculty of Science
  • Faculty of Arts
  • Faculty of Social Science
  • Faculty of Life Science
  • Faculty of Engineering
  • Faculty of Management & Commerce
  • Faculty of Medical Science
  • Faculty of Physical Science
  • Faculty of Natural Science
  • Faculty of Adult & Continuing Education

Contact Details:
Official Website: