Kannur University

Posted on Tuesday, June 9, 2009

The Kannur University was established on 9th November 1995. The University was inaugurated on 2nd March 1996 by the Honorable Chief Minister of Kerala. The objective of the Kannur University Act 1996 is to establish in the state of Kerala a teaching, residential and affiliating University so as to provide for the development of higher education in Kasargod and Kannur revenue Districts and the Mananthavady Taluk of Wayanad District.

Departments and Schools of Kannur University:

  • School of English & Foreign Languages
  • Department of Studies in English
  • School of Social Sciences
  • Department of Anthropology
  • School of Life Sciences
  • Department of Biotechnology & Microbiology
  • School of Management Studies
  • Department of Management Studies
  • School of Information Science & Technology
  • Department of Information Technology
  • School of Development Studies
  • Department of Applied Economics
  • School of Legal Studies
  • Department of Law
  • School of Physical Education and Sports Sciences
  • Department of Physical Education
  • School of Chemical Sciences
  • Department of Chemistry
  • School of Pure and Applied Physics
  • Department of Physics School of Visual and Fine Arts
  • Department of Music
  • School of Pedagogical Sciences
  • School of Indian Languages
  • Department of Geography School of Health Sciences

Courses Offered:
U.G. Courses(3 years)

  • B.A. English
  • B.A.  Economics
  • B.A History
  • B.Sc. Mathematics
  • B.Com (Co-operation)

P.G. Courses (2 years)

  • M.A. English
  • M.Com (Finance)
  • M.Sc. (Mathematics)

Professional Courses

  • B.C.A
  • B.B.A

Certificate Course (1 Year)
Additional Optional (Co-operation)

Afzal-UI-Ulama (5 YearsCourse)

Contact Details:
Mangattuparamba, Kannur University Campus P.O.,
Kannur Dist. Kerala. Pin : 670 567. South India.
EPBX : 2782351 to 2782355 (5 Lines)
Fax : 0497 2782190
Official Website: