Muteesa I Royal University

Posted on Friday, August 12, 2011
This was posted in Universities in Uganda

The University has two campuses. The main campus is located in the city of Masaka, approximately 145 kilometres (90 mi), by road, southwest of Kampala, Uganda’s capital and largest city. The second campus is located on Mengo Hill, the seat of the Buganda Government, within the city of Kampala. The coordinates of the main campus in Masaka are:00 19 21S, 31 44 33E (Latitude:-0.3225; Longitude:32 44 33).

The university plans a third campus at Nazigo, in Mukono District, to house the Faculty of Education. A forth campus planned in Kalangala in the Ssese Islands will house the Faculty of Agriculture and Veterinary Studies and also the Faculty of Tourism and Tourism Studies.

Muteesa I Royal University

Muteesa I Royal University was established when ownership of Masaka Technical Institute (Uganda Technical College, Masaka), was transferred from the Government of Uganda to the Buganda Government, in January 2007. The University is named after Kabaka Muteesa I Mukaabya Walugembe Kayiira. He made agreements with the British to introduce British-based education in his kingdom (Buganda) in the late 19th century.  Muteesa I Royal University received Tertiary Education Institution accreditation from the Ministry of Education & Sports in July 2007. The university admitted the first class of students in October 2007. The university will hold its first graduation ceremony on Friday 15 April 2011. At the same ceremony, His Majesty Ronald Edward Frederick Kimera Muwenda Mutebi II will be installed as the first Chancellor of the university.

Muteesa I Royal University

Courses Offered
Undergraduate Programs

  • Bachelor of Science in Information Technology (BSc.IT)
  • Bachelor of Development Studies (BDS)
  • Bachelor of Guidance and Counseling (BGS)
  • Bachelor of Education (B.Ed) (Arts, Secondary Education)
  • Bachelor of Education (B.Ed) (Childhood & Primary Education)
  • Bachelor of Education (B.Ed) (Arts, Secondary Education)
  • Bachelor of Business Education (BBEd)
  • Bachelor of Business Management (BBM)

Diploma Courses

  • Diploma in Information Technology (Dip.IT)
  • Ordinary Diploma in Civil Engineering (ODip.CE)
  • Ordinary Diploma in Electrical Engineering (ODip.EE)
  • Ordinary Diploma in Mechanical Engineering (ODip.ME)
  • Diploma in Primary Education (Dip.PE)
  • Diploma in Business Management (Dip.BM)


  • Faculty of Information and Communication Technology
  • Faculty of Social Studies and Cultural Development Studies
  • Faculty of Business Management
  • Faculty of Science and Technology
  • Faculty of Art and Design
  • Faculty of Education
  • Faculty of Agriculture and Veterinary Studies
  • Faculty of Natural Environment, Tourism and Tourism Studies
  • Faculty of Medicine, Health Sciences and Health Services

Muteesa I Royal University Contact Details
Muteesa I Royal University
PO Box 14002
Tel: +256 (434) 251 459
Muteesa I Royal University Official Website:

muteesa royal undergratute courses
Path :: Universities, Institutes, University > Universities in Uganda > Muteesa I Royal University