Niger Delta University

Posted on Saturday, July 23, 2011
This was posted in Universities in Nigeria

Niger Delta University which started academic activities in the 2001/2002 session, had its pioneer set of graduating students in the 2004/2005 academic year. Although, the student population was only 1,039 at inception, this has increased to over 10,000 in 2009/2010 session. Given the fact that the university maintains the quota provided by the National Universities Commission (NUC), it may continue to be a relatively small but efficient one.

Niger Delta University

Niger Delta University is located in Wilberforce Island, about 32km from the state capital, Yenagoa, and is made up of three campuses; the Gloryland campus (main campus), the College of Health Sciences campus and the temporary campus of the Faculty of Law in Yenagoa. A new campus, which is really an extension of the Gloryland campus, is being developed.

The establishment of the university through a Law of 2000 is no doubt a significant turning-point in the educational, indeed socio-economic history Bayelsa State in particular and Nigeria in general.

Niger Delta University

Courses Offered

  • Undergraduate Programs
  • Graduate Programs


  • Faculty of Agricultural Technology
  • Faculty of Arts
  • Faculty of Engineering
  • Faculty of Education
  • Faculty of Management Sciences
  • Faculty of Pharmacy
  • Faculty of Sciences
  • Faculty of Social Sciences
  • Faculty of Law
  • Faculty of Basic Medical Sciences
  • Faculty of Medicine
  • Faculty of Nursing


  • College of Medical Sciences


  • Department of Agricultural Economics and Rural Sociology
  • Department of Crop Production
  • Department of Fisheries
  • Department of Livestock Production
  • Department of English and Literary Studies
  • Department of Fine and Applied Arts
  • Department of History/Diplomacy
  • Department of Philosophy
  • Department of Religious Studies
  • Department of Theatre Arts
  • Department of Agricultural Engineering
  • Department of Chemical/Petroleum/Petrochemical Engineering
  • Department of Accountancy
  • Department of Clinical Pharmacy and Pharmacy Practice
  • Department of Biochemistry
  • Department of Economics

Niger Delta University Contact Details
Niger Delta University
Wilberforce Island PMB 071,
Amassoma, Bayelsa State, Nigeria
Niger Delta University Official Website:

courses in niger delta university,faculty of health science niger delta university,Niger Delta University faculties and departments,subjects under faculty of education for niger delta university