Universitas Sumatera Utara

Tagged with:
Posted on Monday, April 29, 2013

During the Civil War, President Abraham Lincoln signed the Morrill Land-Grant Colleges Act, providing funding for the establishment of a new college in each state and territory. These schools were to promote higher education and practical learning to people of all classes and walks of life, especially rural life. In 1888, the Agricultural College of Utah was founded as the state’s land-grant institution. Universitas Sumatera Utara became Utah State University in 1957.

Throughout time, Universitas Sumatera Utara has remained true to its roots as an institution dedicated to the land and its people. With the land-grant distinction, Universitas Sumatera Utara has the responsibility to “educate the state,” and it continues to maintain a presence in every county in Utah. Through academic and research prowess, athletic success, and unparalleled student experience, USU’s rich history and traditions color who we are today.

Universitas Sumatera Utara

Plain and simple, people who have been to Utah State University love it. Just ask them. No other place provides the complete package quite like Universitas Sumatera Utara: top-notch academics, nationally recognized research, Division I athletics, and more than 200 student clubs and organizations, all on the oldest residential campus in the state. And the mountains. USU is just 15 minutes from two mountain ranges and within a half day’s drive of six national parks, including Yellowstone. It’s big-school opportunities with a small-school feel, and it’s all for a great value.

Courses Offered

  • Undergraduate Programs
  • Graduate Programs


  • Caine College of the Arts
  • College of Agriculture and Applied Sciences
  • College of Engineering
  • College of Humanities and Social Sciences
  • College of Science
  • Emma Eccles Jones College of Education & Human Services
  • Jon M. Huntsman School of Business
  • S.J. & Jessie E. Quinney College of Natural Resources


  • Art and Design Department
  • Interior Design Program
  • Music Department
  • Theatre Arts Department
  • Animal, Dairy, and Veterinary Sciences Department
  • Applied Economics Department
  • Landscape Architecture and Environmental Planning Department
  • Nutrition, Dietetics, and Food Sciences Department
  • Plants, Soils, and Climate Department
  • School of Applied Sciences, Technology and Education
  • School of Veterinary Medicine
  • Biological Engineering Department
  • Civil and Environmental Engineering Department
  • Computer Science Department
  • Electrical and Computer Engineering Department
  • Engineering Education Department
  • Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering Department
  • Aerospace Studies Program
  • Asian Studies Program
  • English Department
  • History Department
  • Intensive English Language Institute
  • Journalism and Communication Department
  • Languages, Philosophy and Communication Studies Department
  • Latin American Studies Program
  • Liberal Arts Program
  • Military Science Program
  • Political Science Department
  • Religious Studies Program
  • Sociology, Social Work and Anthropology Department
  • Women and Gender Studies Program
  • Biology Department
  • Chemistry and Biochemistry Department
  • Geology Department
  • Mathematics and Statistics Department
  • Physics Department
  • Communicative Disorders and Deaf Education Department
  • Family, Consumer, and Human Development Department
  • Health, Physical Education, and Recreation Department
  • Instructional Technology and Learning Sciences Department
  • Psychology Department
  • School of Teacher Education and Leadership
  • Special Education and Rehabilitation Department
  • Economics and Finance Department
  • Management Department
  • Management Information Systems Department
  • School of Accountancy
  • Environment and Society Department
  • Watershed Sciences Department
  • Wildland Resources Department


  • Nursing
  • Psychology
  • Pharmacy
  • Public Health
  • Social and Political Sciences
  • Mathematics and Natural Sciences
  • Literature
  • Dentistry
  • Economics
  • Engineering
  • Agriculture
  • Law
  • Medicine

Universitas Sumatera Utara

Contact Details
Universitas Sumatera Utara
Jalan Dr. T. Mansur 9
20155 North Sumatra
Telephone: +62 (61) 821 6575
Fax: +62 (61) 821 9411
Universitas Sumatera Utara Official Website: http://www.usu.edu/

Path :: Universities, Institutes, University > Distance Education > Universitas Sumatera Utara