Universiteit Antwerpen

Posted on Saturday, September 10, 2011
This was posted in Universities in Belgium

The Universiteit Antwerpen is characterised by its high standards in education, internationally competitive research and entrepreneurial approach. It was founded in 2003 after the merger of three university institutions previously known as RUCA, UFSIA and UIA. Their roots go back to 1852. The Universiteit Antwerpen has about 13.000 students, which makes it the third largest university in Flanders. 1.800 international students (exchange students not included) are registered at the UA.  The Universiteit Antwerpen formes the backbone of the Antwerp University Association (AUHA) a strategic collaboration with four university colleges in the city of Antwerp.

Universiteit Antwerpen

The Universiteit Antwerpen has 7 faculties in Applied Economics , Arts and Philosophy , Law,  Medicine , Pharmaceutical, Biomedical and Veterinary Sciences , Political and Social Sciences and Sciences. The Institute of Development Policy and Management (IOB), the University of Antwerp Management School (UAMS) and the Institute of Transport and Maritime Management Antwerp (ITMMA) have an autonomous, faculty-like status. Doctoral programmes are available in most faculties.

The University has 4 campuses situated in the historic city centre top photo) and in the green belt to the south of the city.

The Universiteit Antwerpen is an open, student-oriented, democratic and pluralistic university. It aims for high quality and stimulates innovation in education, research and service.

Universiteit Antwerpen

Courses Offered
Undergraduate Programs

  • Communication Studies
  • Film Studies and Visual Culture
  • History
  • Business Engineering
  • Business Engineering in Management Information Systems
  • Environmental Science
  • Instructional and Educational Sciences
  • Political Communication
  • Political Sciences
  • Law
  • Sociology
  • Social work
  • Social and Economic Sciences
  • Linguistics and Literature
  • Applied Economics
  • Philosophy
  • Biochemistry and Biotechnology
  • Bio-engineering sciences
  • Biology
  • Biomedical Sciences
  • Chemistry
  • Veterinary Medicine
  • Pharmaceutical Sciences
  • Physics
  • Medicine
  • Computer Science
  • Marine and Lacustrine Science and Management
  • Environmental Science
  • Nursing and Obstetrics
  • Mathematics

Graduate Programs

  • Master of Applied Economic Sciences: Business Administration
  • Master of Applied Economic Sciences: Economic Policy
  • Master of Computer Science
  • Master of Biology: Biodiversity: Conservation and Restoration
  • Master of Marine and Lacustrine Science and Management
  • Master of Molecular Biology
  • Master of Physics
  • Master of Development Evaluation and Management
  • Master of Globalisation and Development
  • Master of Governance and Development
  • Master of Technology of Integrated Water Management
  • Master of Transport and Maritime Economics
  • Master of Transport and Maritime Management


  • Faculty of Applied Economics Sciences
  • Faculty of Arts and Philosophy
  • Faculty of Law
  • Faculty of Medicine
  • Faculty of Pharmaceutical, Veterinary and Biomedical Sciences
  • Faculty of Political and Social Sciences
  • Faculty of Sciences

Contact Details
Universiteit Antwerpen
Gratiekapelstraat  10
BE-2000 Antwerpen – Belgium
General phone IRO +32 3 265 4980
Fax nr IRO +32 3 265 4142
Universiteit Antwerpen Official Website: http://www.ua.ac.be/