University of Nigeria Nsukka

Posted on Friday, July 15, 2011
This was posted in Universities in Nigeria

The University of Nigeria Nsukka is a federal university located in Nsukka, Enugu State, Nigeria. Founded in October 1960, the University of Nigeria has three campuses – Nsukka, Enugu and Ituku-Ozalla – all located in Enugu State, Nigeria.

University of Nigeria Nsukka

A law to establish a University of Nigeria Nsukka was passed in 1955. While that date marks the formal beginning of the history of the University of Nigeria Nsukka, the enactment of this legislation by several Nigerian leaders, and inspired particularly by the then Premier of the Eastern Region, Dr. Nnamdi Azikiwe.

University of Nigeria Nsukka

To create a functional, globally competitive & research-focused University which is not just an Ivory Tower, but responsive to the needs of the society, while delivering World-class education and Knowledge.

To place the University of Nigeria Nsukka in the forefront of Research and development, Innovation, Knowledge Transfer and Human Resource Development in the global academic terrain, while promoting the core values which will ensure the restoration of the dignity of man.

The University of Nigeria Nsuka Libraries consist of the Nnamdi Azikiwe Library, the Libraries of the facilities of Agriculture and Education and the Institute of African Studies on the Nsukka campus, the Enugu Main Library, the Library of the Institute of Development Studies (IDS) at the Enugu Campus, and the Medical Library located at the College of Medicine, University of Nigeria Nsukka Teaching Hospital, Enugu.

Courses Offered
Undergraduate Programs

  • Bachelor of Agriculture (B. Agric.)
  • Bachelor of Science (B. Sc.)
  • Bachelor of Arts (B. A.)
  • Bachelor of Dental Surgery (BDS): Offered by the Faculty of Dentistry.
  • Bachelor of Education (B. Ed.): offered by the Faculty of Education.
  • Bachelor of Engineering (B. Eng.): offered by the Faculty of Engineering.
  • Bachelor of Medical Laboratory Sciences (B. MLS): Dept. of Medical Laboratory Sciences.
  • Bachelor of Law (LL.B): Offered by the Faculty of Law.
  • Bachelor of Medicine (M.B.): offered by the Faculty of Medical Sciences.
  • Bachelor of Pharmacy (B. Pharm.): offered by the Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences.
  • Doctor of Veterinary Medicine (DVM)


  • Faculty of Agriculture Building
  • Faculty of Arts
  • Faculty of Biological Sciences Building
  • Faculty of Business Administration
  • Faculty of Education
  • Faculty of Engineering
  • Faculty of Environmental Studies
  • Faculty of Health Sciences & Technology
  • Faculty of Law
  • Faculty of Medical Sciences Building
  • Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences Building
  • Clinical Pharmacy and Pharmacy Management
  • Faculty of Physical Sciences
  • Faculty of Post Graduate Studies
  • Faculty of Social Sciences
  • Faculty of Veterinary Medicine


  • School of General Studies


  • Institute of African Studies
  • Institute of Education

University of Nigeria Nsukka Contact Details
University of Nigeria Nsukka
Innovation Centre, University of Nigeria
410101 Enugu
Tel: +234 803 775 0954
University of Nigeria Nsukka Official Website:

courses offered at university of Nigeria Nsukka
Path :: Universities, Institutes, University > Universities in Nigeria > University of Nigeria Nsukka