University of South Australia

Posted on Friday, June 3, 2011
This was posted in Universities in Australia

Founded in 1991, the University of South Australia is an innovative, outward-looking university built on more than a century’s experience as a leader in educating professionals and applied research. UniSA is part of the influential Australian Technology Network (ATN), an alliance of five prominent universities from each mainland state. The ATN’s aim is to help enhance Australia’s social and economic wealth by creating, disseminating and applying new knowledge.

UniSA was founded in January 1991 through the amalgamation of the South Australian Institute of Technology and the Magill, Salisbury and Underdale campuses of the South Australian College of Advanced Education. (See Genealogy). Under the University’s Act, its mission was ‘to preserve, extend and disseminate knowledge through teaching, research, scholarship and consultancy, and to provide educational programs that will enhance the diverse cultural life of the wider community’.

UniSA will be a leading contributor to Australia having the best higher education system in the world, supporting the world’s best educated and most innovative, cohesive and sustainable society.

UniSA educates professionals and citizens to the highest standards; creates and disseminates knowledge; and engages with our communities to address the major issues of our time.

The Library plays a significant role in supporting the University’s teaching learning and research mission through the provision of relevant information resources and associated services.

Courses Offered

  • Undergraduate Programs
  • Graduate Programs


  • Division of Business
  • Division of Education, Arts and Social Sciences
  • Division of Health Sciences
  • Division of Information Technology, Engineering and the Environment


  • School of Art, Architecture and Design
  • School of Communication, International Studies and Languages
  • School of Education
  • School of Psychology, Social Work and Social Policy
  • The David Unaipon College of Indigenous Education & Research
  • School of Communication, Information and New Media
  • School of Education
  • School of International Studies
  • Louis Laybourne Smith School of Architecture and Design
  • School of Psychology
  • School of Social Work and Social Policy
  • South Australian School of Art
  • The Unaipon School
  • School of Health Sciences
  • School of Nursing and Midwifery
  • School of Pharmacy and Medical Sciences
  • School of Commerce
  • School of Law
  • School of Management
  • School of Marketing
  • International Graduate School of Business
  • School of Advanced Manufacturing and Mechanical Engineering
  • School of Computer and Information Science
  • School of Electrical and Information Engineering
  • School of Mathematics and Statistics
  • School of Natural and Built Environments


  • ARC Special Research Centre
  • Cooperative Research Centres
  • Other national research centres


  • Ian Wark Research Institute
  • Institute for Telecommunications Research
  • Hawke Research Institute for Sustainable Societies (HRISS)
  • Sansom Institute for Health Research
  • Ehrenberg-Bass Institute for Marketing Science [
  • Barbara Hardy Institute for Sustainable Environments and Technologies

Contact Details
University of South Australia
GPO Box 2471
Adelaide, South Australia 5001
Ph +61 8 8302 6611
Fax +61 8 8302 2466
Official Website:

Path :: Universities, Institutes, University > Universities in Australia > University of South Australia